Skip to content

Showpiece: The Leather Sofa

Great room furnishing solutions to create a cohesive, rustic look
Share

What’s the foremost must-have luxury for your great room? An oversized, buttery-soft leather sofa you can sink into. With that showpiece in place, the rest of the room comes together with details such as classic Tiffany lamps, a personalized fireplace screen and an Old World armoire to conceal newfangled gadgets.
Ogden Leather Sofa
1.Ogden Leather Sofa from Sundance Catalog, $4,495. 800-422-2770; www.sundancecatalog.com
Diamond Mission Table Lamp 2.Diamond Mission Table Lamp from Meyda Tiffany, $230. 800-222-4009; www.meyda.com
Slab coffee table
3.Slab coffee table from Alan Vogel Furniture, $1,800. Available at Dana’s Showhouse, 206-842-6945.
 Monogrammed Fleur-de-Lis Fireplace Screen 4.Monogrammed Fleur-de-Lis Fireplace Screen from Horchow, $259. 877-944-9888; www.horchow.com
 Old Door Wardrobe 5.Old Door Wardrobe from Global Surroundings, $2,495. 612-817-5888; www.globalsurroundings.com
 When there are dollars to spare, the inclination in the kitchen is to spend it on high-functioning appliances and gadgets galore. But don’t downplay the importance of a stunning backdrop. Aim for something spectacular, with a brilliant color scheme, rich textures and even industrial elegance.
Antique Terra Cotta 6. Antique Terra Cotta (dark) tiles from Ann Sacks, $16.70 per square foot and up. 800-278-8453; www.annsacks.com
Clairette kitchen sink fauce  7. Clairette kitchen sink faucet from Kohler, $494.80 and up. 800-456-4537; www.kohler.com
Custom mosaic
8. Custom mosaic by Mazama Mosaic, $225 to $300/square foot. 541-951-1521;  www.mazamamosaic.com (For a listing of mosaic artists, visit www.americanmosaics.org).
Jazz barstool   9. Jazz barstool in orange from Modern Collections, $139. www.moderncollections.com
You’ve heard that master bedrooms are getting smaller, but that doesn’t mean they can’t be havens of good taste. Beyond adding a gas-insert fireplace faced with natural stone, consider two or three furniture pieces that offer both comfort and timeless style. You’ll never want to leave this cozy sanctuary.
Lodge-style hand-carved armchair  10. Lodge-style hand-carved armchair from Scottsdale Art Factory, $5,800. 800-292-0008; www.artfactory.com
Fireplace facing
11. Fireplace facing: American granite thin-veneer mosaic pattern, $10.50 to $12/square foot. 518-623-2902; www.champlainstone.com
 Antique-style armoire 12. Antique-style armoire with decorative brass accents and walnut finish from Arte De Mexico, $5,000 to $8,000. 818-753-4559; www.artedemexico.com
Outdoor-room decor often takes second billing to what goes inside your home. Which is a shame when you consider how much time you can spend on the porch watching the sun set and chatting fireside out back. Liven up your alfresco space with a few trimmings full of character.
Locust railing
13. Locust railing from Appalachian Designs, $35 per square foot. 828-628-9994; www.appalachiandesigns.com
 Chandelier 14. Chandelier from Michael Ashford Evergreen Studios, $4,695. 360-352-0694; www.evergreenstudios.com 
Rocking Chair  15. Teak Kingston rocking chair from Gloster Furniture, $1,313. 888-456-7837; www.gloster.com
Built-in firescreen
16. Built-in firescreen from Wolfgang Forge, $5,000. 503-429-7342; www.wolfgangforge.com
   

Get your FREE Trial Issue of Log Home Living and 2 FREE gifts.
Yes! Please send me a FREE trial issue of Log Home Living and 2 FREE gifts.
If I like it and decide to continue, I'll get 8 more issues (9 in all) for just $15.95, a savings of 65%! If for any reason
I decide not to continue, I'll write "cancel" on the invoice and owe nothing. The FREE trial issue and 2 FREE gifts are mine to keep, no matter what.
Full Name:
Address 1:
Address 2:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Email (req):
Offer valid in US only.
Click here for Canada or here for international subscriptions